The 1st Quarter Results are in!

So I love to share good news, and today I have a lot of it and it’s all because of you. I’ve finally tallied up all the attorney hours that were reported on case update forms we received from January 1st to April 15th, and here are some great numbers to look at:

Hours Attorneys have volunteered (Jan-Apr 15th – non clinic): 1504.65
Hours volunteered to help at clinics (Jan – March 30th): 230.5
Total hours given in the 1st quarter: 1735.15

Now mind you, this is just what has been reported to us. I know there are more hours out there that we don’t have since on my open case reports I see a lot of 0’s still on some cases. It’s very important that you let us know your hours as you go along so that we can get them reported accurately to the CLE during the year.

Speaking of which, you should see the hours you reported show up sometime in May on your CLE records. Thank you again so much for all the time you’ve given!

Now, even better news! According to the report, I have 136 new attorney names on this list. These are both brand spankin’ new attorneys joining us as well as previous volunteers returning after not taking on a case in 2009. So to those people – you should know who you are – Thank you!

Now here’s a sneak peek at our summer projects I have planned:


First off we are planning on doing a mass attorney contact info/volunteer preference update. Some of our records date back almost to 1998 and we know that people change what they practice or how they want to help all the time. Therefore, anyone who hasn’t taken a case since January 2008 (or attorneys who have no volunteer preferences checked) will get a letter sometime this summer asking if they still wish to volunteer and to update their records. As always, we want to make sure that when we contact you, we’re doing so about cases you want to hear about, or if you want to do clinics only, that you hear about the dates each month you can help on.

Secondly is updating our case update form. I’m looking at a way to tweak it a bit so that it’s a bit easier to fill out and gets us the information we need. I’m also going to see if it’s possible for us to generate the amount of time already reported on a case to us so you can just add hours instead of guessing and trying to remember what we know and don’t. I’m also looking to add on a line for you to report any co-counsel attorneys to we can keep track of everyone on a case and the time they put in better.

Thirdly, I’m going to work a bit more on this blog and try to get posts up more often. If anyone has suggestions on what they would like to hear from our program, whether it be success stories, how things work with us, explanation on processes, etc., feel free to e-mail me or comment. This blog is for our volunteers, so I want to make sure we get everything we can to you.

And of course, I’m still working on my personal goal of trying to meet more attorneys face to face so that I’m not just a person behind a computer. I’d love to come down to visit any firm and chat with new attorneys about the program who might have questions, or meet for coffee and just get to know people. The summer is a great time for this as I tend to have less cases to process during those months. Just drop me an e-mail if you want me to stop by one day and we can set up a time.

I think that’s all I have for you today, so once again thank you SO much for every second of those hours you’ve put in so far, and I can’t wait to see what the next quarter brings.

*~ Alison ~*

Leave a Reply

